The Blue Obscurities

by Trance To The Sun

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    7 page PDF booklet with complete artwork and lyrics is included with the download.

      $7 USD  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Comes in a lovely gatefold card case, with rare photos, lyrics, and artwork by Ingrid Luna Blue.

    Includes unlimited streaming of The Blue Obscurities via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 7 days

      $10 USD or more 




Much more than a mere rarities collection, “The Blue Obscurities” is the long awaited companion CD to Trance To The Sun’s majestic “Urchin Tear Soda” and “Atrocious Virgin” albums. This impressive
presentation features the 7 associated album outtakes (left off for time considerations), plus 6 rare compilation contribution tracks, all centered around the expressively spellbinding and cryptic vocals of Ingrid Blue.

“The Blue Obscurities” is released both digitally and in a limited-edition eco-wallet style CD package with period photos and new artwork by vocalist Blue.

Emerging from the 1990's U.S. Darkwave scene, Trance To The Sun recorded and released 7 studio albums and undertook 5 tours of the U.S. and Canada during the years 1993 - 2001.
Trance to the Sun inspired a loyal following and considerable acclaim with their unique brand of lushly textured and highly emotive songscapes, infusing elements of darkwave, post punk, dreampop and pychedelia into a unique and readily identifiable melange.

Three different female vocalists fronted the group at various times during the most active period of TTTS, beginning with the haunting echolalia of Zoe Wakefield through 1996, followed by a brief foray from the articulate and erudite Dawn Wagner (Scarlet Slipping) in 1997, and finally reaching a crescendo with the emotive, lyrical vocal elocutions of Ingrid Blue from 1998 onward.

Revealed here for the first time ever are three tracks recorded in ’01 for a proposed follow-up to “Atrocious Virgin”: “Her Magnetism” is a signature bluesy, waltzing deathrock ballad, “Mr. Pluto Head”
is an up-tempo, apocalyptic prog-goth opus, while “I Don’t Want To Haunt Your Memory” is a pulse throbbing ten minute epic on par with the most captivating works ever recorded by the band.

Additional unreleased tunes included here are the ominous “Secret Police” (dating from the period of “Urchin Tear Soda”) and the lush, 9 minute “Ophelianic Mosquito” (a track which simply would not have fit onto the “Atrocious Virgin” CD, but otherwise echoes a strong sense of belonging with that work).

Long-time fans may recognize the witchcraft themed “Malla At Ease”, the shadowy “Phases Of The Razor”, and the cathartic “Virginia’s Lament”, these having found their way onto various compilations in their time (although it is a slightly more sparse and concise mix of “Virginia’s Lament” that is presented here).

Also from the realms of the previously-released-but-rare come Trance’s stunning cover of the Cocteau Twins gem “The Thinner The Air” (originally found on "Victorialand"), as well as a gorgeous downtempo shoegazer rendition of The Who’s classic “The Real Me”.

“The Blue Obscurities” is rounded out by three instrumental works by bandleader Ashkelon Sain from the same period: the electro-ambient “Lotus Lantern V.7”, a cover of Fleetwood Mac’s 1969 jewel “Albatross”, plus a beautifully orchestrated guitar ballad entitled “Unexpected Snow”.


released January 5, 2011



all rights reserved


Trance To The Sun Portland, Oregon

Purveyors of extraordinary Psychedelic Shoegaze Post-Punk Dreampop since 1990.

contact / help

Contact Trance To The Sun

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code